One CFL Gryphon announces his retirement

Pietrowski2-Als

Jake Piotrowski  Photo: 

Early this evening former Gryphon offensive lineman Jake Piotrowski announced his retirement from the Montreal Alouettes.

Piotrowski shared that news via his Facebook page.

Today with my family and friends support entering what would have been my fifth training camp as a CFL Player I am announcing my retirement.

With my responsibilities at home growing I feel it necessary that I return to my family and my farm. It’s truly where my heart is.

Football has introduced me to my best friends. Football has allowed me to travel my country and play with spectacular athletes. Living in the city of Montreal has been a great contrast to my upbringing. I am very grateful for the opportunity the Alouettes have given me! They believed in a farm boy from Shanty Bay! Now it’s time I return home to my roots!

Thank you to all of you have supported me! It means the world to me!

A 2009 recruit, Piotrowski redshirted his freshman season at Guelph. He moved into a starting role in 2010 and 2011, then missed the 2012 season after undergoing shoulder surgery. Piotrowski was an OUA All Star in 2013. He was the Gryphons’ Lineman of the Year in 2011.

Chosen in the 5th Round of the 2013 CFL Draft, 41st overall, by Montreal. Piotrowski made the Alouettes roster in 2014 and dressed in 49 games over three seasons.

Piotrowski vs York

#58 Jake Piotrowski pancakes a York lineman Photo: Lou Toppan

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

