Wildman Awards Dinner – Jan 2017


Photo courtesy of Kyle Rodriguez

A crowd of 350 people gathered at the Delta Hotel on Saturday night for the Wildman Dinner. The annual event is Gryphon Football’s awards banquet and opportunity to honour it’s graduating players.

The highlight of the evening is the awarding of the Ted Wildman Memorial Trophy. Awarded since 1932, the Wildman Trophy goes to the senior or graduating player who has “exemplified to the highest degree the traits of sportmanship, leadership, gentlemanly conduct and who has maintained good scholarship”.

Former Wildman winners present for the evening included Bill Sproule (1958), Robbie Keith (1959), David Hume (1961), Steve Stewart (1969), Bill Morrison (1970), Tom Arnott (1976), Scott Hobson (1982), Bob McLay (1987) and Pat McGrath (2015). Click here for a complete list of the winners.


David Hume presents the Wildman Trophy to 2016 winner Rob Carnegie

For 2016 the Wildman Trophy was awarded to 5th-year running back turned receiver Rob Carnegie. The Kingston native [Frontenac SS] is a two-time Academic All Canadian who is on track to be so honoured for a third time. Carnegie was a standout on special teams who has devoted countless hours to volunteer work in the Guelph community. On top of that, Carnegie has been coaching minor football for 5 years. In 2016 Carnegie was head coach of the Guelph Jr. Gryphons Bantam team.

You can find more details on the evening in articles on Gryphons.ca and the Gryphon Football’s Team App.

From the latter story …

The trophy is presented annually by the Wildman Trophy Committee for a player’s excellence on the field, in the classroom and in the community. It’s Gryphon football’s most celebrated award and was first handed out in 1932, long before the Gryphons were known as the Gryphons.

“I can’t really thank the Gryphon football community enough,” Carnegie said. “They kind of give all the players as many opportunities as you need. Basically as much energy as you have, they have an opportunity for you.”

While injuries limited Carnegie’s playing time to four games last fall, he kept up his schoolwork and continued to volunteer for many charities and events. He’s well on his way to his third academic all-Canadian award, something that’s given to student-athletes who achieve an overall average of at least 80 per cent in their studies.

Other major award winners were linebacker Lucas Korol, who won the Donald Forester Trophy as the Team MVP; offensive lineman Andrew Pickett who won the Stuart Lang Offensive Player of the Year Award; defensive back Tristan Doughlin who won the Tom Dimitroff Sr. Defensive Player of the Year Award and Derek Droulliard, winner of the Tom Mooney Trophy for Lineman of the Year.

Fifth-year player Tristan Doughlin was the only double award winner. In addition to the Dimitroff Trophy he received the Captains Award.

Three true freshmen won awards. Receiver Kian Schaffer-Baker was the team’s Rookie of the Year. Running back Patrick Pierre was selected the Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year. And quarterback Zach Buchan was voted the winner of the Unsung Hero Award by his teammates.

Here is a complete summary of the awards courtesy of Gryphon.ca:

Ted Wildman Memorial Trophy:  Rob Carnegie
Donald Forster Trophy (MVP):  Luke Korol
Tom Dimitroff Trophy (Defensive Player of the Year):  Tristan Doughlin
Stu Lang Trophy (Offensive Player of the Year):  Andrew Pickett
Special Teams Player of the Year:  Job Reinhart
Tom Mooney Lineman of the Year:  Derek Drouillard
Rookie of the Year:  Kian Schaffer-Baker
Kyle Walters Trophy:  James Roberts
Richard P. Kohler Perseverance Award:  Geoff Bezruchko
Captains Award:  Tristan Doughlin
Granite Gryphon Award:  Aidan Fraser
Scout Team – Offensive Player of the Year:  Patrick Pierre
Scout Team – Defensive Player of the Year:  Aidan England
Support Staff Award:  Kyle Wood
Unsung Hero Award:  Zach Buchan
Academic Support Award:  Jason Dodd
Pflug Family Community Service Award:  Orion Edwards
Jeff Hale Coach of the Year:  Mike Stenning (London South High School)


2017 Wildman Award Winners (Photo courtesy Kyle Rodriguez)

*     *     *


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s