Stathblog Q & A with Dan MacDonald

sask-macdonald

A blog that tells the story of Canadian university student-athletes, Stathblog.com recently published an 11 question Q&A with former Gryphon, and recently retired Saskatchewan Roughrider, Daniel MacDonald.

Here are my favourite questions and responses …

Q: What was your time at Guelph like being a student-athlete and why did you choose Guelph?

Dan: The funny thing is, Guelph was my last choice. I thought I was 100% going to be going to Waterloo or Queens. My brother was playing at Waterloo; my Dad was an alumnus, so to be able to play with him and for my Dad’s team would have been special. However, after the whole scandal broke out at Waterloo, that dream was gone with it.

So, with my options being open again, I started to go on visits and once I got to Guelph, it kind of just hit me; this was home. I had never seen a group of guys so close in the locker room, and you could just tell something special was happening with Coach Lang there.

Being a student-athlete anywhere is hard. People don’t realize that it basically becomes a 24/7 ordeal. You have class all day, a team lift somewhere in between, practice, and then meetings. All of this maybe gets you home for 10:30, then you maybe have half an hour for yourself before you go to bed. I wouldn’t change any of it, because being at the UOG has been the best 5 years of my life. I met 100 strangers in my first year that have grown to become family, and sure, the wins and losses are memorable, but those relationships that I built are more special to me than any game could ever be.

Q: Is there anything you’d like to share with the next generation of future athletes?

Dan: Football is a beautiful game. It has enabled me to meet so many wonderful people and do so many things that it’s hard to imagine what life would have been like without it. Life goes on after football and I am sure it will be good. That said, for all the young kids out there, remember that you won’t be able to play your sport forever. Fully invest in every moment that you get to strap on those pads. Make sure to play with everything you have. You never know when it’s going to be over.

Read the full story here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stathblog Q & A with Dan MacDonald

  1. Mike MacDonald says:

    Thanks for posting this story Brad. Daniel is a proud Gryphon and got the opportunity to become a proud Roughrider too. He made the right decision to retire after getting a concussion in practice, not an easy one for him but the right one. He recovered very quickly and is symptom free. His Mom Anne Marie, his brother and former Gryphon Brett, and I are so proud of him.

Leave a Reply

