Wildman Awards Dinner – Jan 23/16

Pat McGrath '16 Wildman

2015 Ted Wildman Memorial Trophy winner – Pat McGrath

In front of a room of almost 350 people at the Delta Hotel on Saturday night, the Ted Wildman Memorial Trophy was awarded to 4th year defensive back Patrick McGrath. The Sault Ste Marie native was a Special Teams captain and a 4-time Academic All Canadian who will graduate this Spring with a degree in Engineering.

The Wildman Trophy, awarded since 1932, goes to the senior or graduating player who has “exemplified to the highest degree the traits of sportsmanship, leadership, gentlemanly conduct and who has maintained good scholarship”. Former Wildman winners present for the evening were Bill Sproule (1958), Robby Keith (1959), David Hume (1960), Steve Stewart (1969), Bill Morrison (1970), Dan Cornwell (1974),  Andrew Oosterhuis (2004),  Adam Carapella (2005), Zack Androschuk (2012) and Rob Farquharson (2014).

Click here for a complete list of the winners since 1932.

Other major award winners were 5th year linebacker John Rush, winner of the Donald Forster Trophy as the team’s Most Valuable Player; Curtis Newton, winner of the Tom Dimitroff Defensive Player of the Year Award; Matt Toppan, winner of the Tom Mooney Trophy for Lineman of the Year and Jacob Scarfone, winner of the Stu Lang Offensive Player of the Year. This was a new trophy named to honour retiring head coach Stuart Lang.

The Richard P. Kohler Perserverance Award went to Daniel Palmer-Salmon, the Kyle Walters Trophy was won by Nick Parisotto and the team’s captains elected to give the Captains Trophy to Andrew Graham.

'15 Trophy Winners

Special Teams Player of the Year:  Gabe Ferraro & Ryan Nieuwesteeg (co-winners)
Scout Team Players of the Year:   David Luke (Offense) & Riley Baines (Defense)
Rookie of the Year:                  Job Reinhart
Unsung Hero:                          Alex Ross 
Granite Gryphon Award:      James Roberts
Pflug Family Community Service Award: Matt Nesbitt
Support Staff Member of the Year:    Gabby Boulding
Academic Support Award:   Nick Pankerichan
Riddell High School Coach of the Year:  Neil Majoros & Jon Beresford (St. Roch Catholic Secondary School)

Ted Wildman Memorial Trophy:   Pat McGrath
Donald Forster Trophy (MVP):  John Rush
Defensive Player of the Year:   Curtis Newton
Offensive Player of the Year:   Jacob Scarfone
Lineman of the Year:                 Matt Toppan
Captains’ Award:                        Andrew Graham 
Kyle Walters Trophy:                Nick Parisotto
Richard P. Kohler Award:    Daniel Palmer-Salmon

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wildman Awards Dinner – Jan 23/16

  1. Catherine Dowdall says:

    Hi Brad – sorry we didn’t get a chance to catch up at the Wildman. I did see you off in the corner with your kilt on – you looked very spiffy. While the event was long, they did a great job keeping it moving. Some of the roasts were priceless. I was watching the boys at our table (Iain, Colin, Pat and Tim) and it was pretty cute to see them looking down at their rings, like they didn’t believe that this was really happening.

    I just wanted to let you know that I think you have a typo in your article, where you list the winners of the various trophies, you have Rob F. winning the Wildman.

    I hope that you have a great winter and we will probably see you at a couple of games in the fall.

    All of the best.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s