Wildman Awards Dinner – Jan 24/15

Wildman Dinner (2015)

In front of a room of about 300 people at the Delta Hotel on Saturday night, the Ted Wildman Memorial Trophy was awarded to 5th-year running back Rob Farquharson. The Niagara Falls native [Stamford CI] was the only 5th-year senior presence on an otherwise young offense. Farquharson finished his career as the second leading rusher in Gryphon history. 

The Wildman Trophy, awarded since 1932, goes to the senior or graduating player who has “exemplified to the highest degree the traits of sportmanship, leadership, gentlemanly conduct and who has maintained good scholarship”. Former Wildman winners present for the evening were Bill Sproule (1958), Robby Keith (1961), Steve Stewart (1969), Bill Morrison (1970), Peter Partridge (1997), Ian McQueen (1997) and Zack Androschuk (2012).

Click here for a complete list of the winners since 1932.

Other major award winners were quarterback Jazz Lindsey, winner of the Donald Forster Trophy as the team’s Most Valuable Player; Cam Walker, winner for the second consecutive year of the Tom Dimitroff Defensive Player of the Year Award and Matt Nesbitt, winner of the Tom Mooney Trophy for Lineman of the Year. This trophy was re-named this year to honour Coach Mooney who passed away in July 2014.

Tristan Douglin receives the Kohler Perserverence Award from Rick's brothers & sister

Tristan Douglin receives the Richard P. Kohler Perserverence Award from Rick’s brothers & sister

A new addition to the awards given out was the Richard P. Kohler Perserverance Award. This award was named in honour of Gryphon alumnus Rick Kohler who passed away recently after a battle with stomach cancer. Several members of the Kohler family were present at the dinner including his two brothers and sister who presented the award to its first recipient, Gryphon safety Tristan Doughlin. In 2014 Doughlin dislocated an elbow and broke his wrist and only missed two games. He played in the Yates Cup with a brace & a cast.

There were two other new awards given out. One was the Granite Gryphon Award for “the player with the best attendance record and results in the Performance Centre”. The other was the Academic Support Award “presented to the Professor, Tutor or Counsellor who best supports the football program and its academic goals”.

2015 Wildman Award Winners Group Websized

Captains’ Award:                        Curtis Newton 
Kyle Walters Trophy:                Alex Charette
Special Teams Player of the Year:  Daniel Ferraro & Ryan Nieuwesteeg (co-winners)
Scout Team Players of the Year:   Alec Reid (Offense) & John Birnie (Defense)
Rookie of the Year:                  Nick Parisotto
Unsung Hero:                          Alec Reid 
Defensive Player of the Year:   Cam Walker
Donald Forster Trophy (MVP):  Jazz Lindsey
Lineman of the Year:                 Matt Nesbitt
Ted Wildman Memorial Trophy:   Rob Farquharson

Richard P. Kohler Award:    Tristan Doughlin
Granite Gryphon Award:    Curtis Newton

Support Staff Member of the Year:     Ben Coker
Academic Support Award:   Sarah Goody

Wildman Trophy winner Rob Farquharson with his parents and brothers Photo: Kyle Rodriguez

Wildman Trophy winner Rob Farquharson with his parents and brothers
Photo: Kyle Rodriguez

This entry was posted in History & traditions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s