Two Gryphon recruits win awards

Noel Amaya  Spencer Swann with their D10 trophies Photo: Rob Massey/Mercury

Noel Amaya & Spencer Swann with their D10 trophies
Photo: Rob Massey/Mercury

Two Gryphon recruits picked up major awards at the District 10 Football Awards luncheon. Lourdes Crusaders receiver Noel Amaya won the Nick FitzGibbon Trophy as D10’s Most Outstanding Player. Amaya was also voted the Offensive Player of the Year by the leagues’ coaches. GCVI Green Gaels o-lineman Spencer Swan was voted the D10 Lineman of the Year. Amaya & Swan were also named to the D10 All Star team.

The Guelph Mercury’s story – Gryphon recruit Amaya wins Fitzy as top player in D10 – contains a complete list of the D10 All Stars and award winners.

Also, some feedback from Swan and Amaya:

Winning the lineman award was mission accomplished for Swan.

“I’ve been looking for that for the last couple of years, to kind of get good recognition from the league,” he said. “It’s a good way to kind of seal the deal on my high school career and move on to the next step.”

Swan, who’s 6-foot-5 and 310 pounds, plans to attend the U of G in the fall and hopes to play for the Gryphs. He had thought about attending the university and playing football last fall, but decided against it.

“I needed to upgrade some of my marks, some things academically, and I don’t know if I was ready physically to come here, so I took another year,” he said. “Now I feel a lot better about making that next step.”

*     *     *

[Amaya] is already committed to the University of Guelph and hopes to study either criminology or accounting, and play football.

“I just wish to improve because I know there’s a lot more to go,” he said. “I know that the coaches and the players will teach me a lot.”

Winning the D10 title this season means that Amaya’s high school career was bookended by championship wins.

“I’ll definitely remember winning D10 in Grade 9 and winning D10 this year, and how far we went this year with CWOSSA and the overtime games that we won and the relationships I’ve had with the players and the coaches. Because they’re not only teammates, they’re also classmates and I see them every day. It’s good to have that relationship with them.”

This entry was posted in Recruiting 2015 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

