2013 Wildman Awards Dinner

There was a big turnout for last night’s awards banquet in spite of the weather. Some parents driving in from out of town experienced drive times twice or three times the norm. It was a very positive evening once people made it there. Lots to celebrate after another 8-2 season overall.

Taylor Palmer receives 2013 Wildman

Taylor Palmer receives 2013 Wildman

In front of a full room at the Delta Hotel the Ted Wildman Memorial Trophy was awarded to 5th-year defensive back and 2013 team captain Taylor Palmer. The Niagara Falls native [St Paul’s] was a veteran presence in an otherwise very young secondary and finished tied for the OUA lead in interceptions. Palmer was also a multi-year Academic All-Canadian and maintained an eye-popping cumulative GPA.

The Wildman Trophy, awarded since 1932, goes to the senior or graduating player who has “exemplified to the highest degree the traits of sportmanship, leadership, gentlemanly conduct and who has maintained good scholarship”. Former Wildman winners present for the evening were Bill Sproule (1958), David Hume (1961), Bill Morrison (1970), Ted McEachern (1972) and Greg Scheifele (1973).  Click here for a complete list of the previous winners.

Other major award winners were Saxon Lindsey & Alex Charette, co-winners of the Donald Forster Trophy for the team’s MVP; Cam Walker, winner of the Tom Dimitroff Award for the Defensive Player of the Year and Cam Thorn, the team’s Lineman of the Year.

2013 Gryphon Football award winners

2013 Gryphon Football award winners

Captains’ Award:                        Luke Nangle
Kyle Walters Trophy:                Pat McGrath
Special Teams Player of the Year:  Andrew Graham 
Scout Team Players of the Year:   Brandon Gordon (Offense) & Daniel Horta (Defense)
Rookie of the Year:                  Ian Marouf
Unsung Hero:                          Wayne Ego (Equipment Manager)
Defensive Player of the Year:   Cam Walker
Donald Forster Trophy (MVP):  Saxon Lindsey & Alex Charette
Lineman of the Year:                 Cam Thorn
Ted Wildman Memorial Trophy:   Taylor Palmer

*     *     *

Notes:  For the third year in a row the Special Teams P-o-Y was an OUA All Star at the Special Teams Rush/Cover position. Bryan Dunjko (2011), Cam Walker (2012) and now Andrew Graham. In addition, A’dre Fraser is a two-time OUA All Star (2012 & 2013) as a returner … It’s unlikely DB Taylor Palmer will be back to use his final year of eligibility. It seems like he has too many professional/educational opportunities for Gryphon fans to count on him returning … Carl Trivieri, Keith Walker and Jordan McCoskey likely fall into the same category … The Unsung Hero Award is voted on by the players. 2013 recipient, Equipment Mgr Wayne Ego is also moving on after 3 years with the team … Receivers Coach Brian Malott would like to continue coaching but he can’t do it from Korea where he will be working as a teacher while earning an MEd degree … two members of the 2014 recruiting class were in attendance – Gabriel Ferraro and Arran MacRae.

This entry was posted in History & traditions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s