Some big news & lots of links

Training camp just started 8 days ago and it’s already almost over. As I stated here I don’t think a 10 day training camp is long enough and it hurts OUA football in relation to the other CIS conferences, particularly the RESQ. But the good thing is we are only two days away from the season opener against the Wilfrid Laurier Golden Hawks. I will save my comments about the game for a preview I hope to post in the next 24 hours.

I admit, I had been a little disappointed with the coverage by the Guelph Mercury of the first few days of training camp. Then … BANG! Rob Massey pounds out four stories in past few days. Each one focuses on a particular player but together give you a bit of an idea of what is going on.

First off, Massey talks to Mac Myers, a starter at DB last year but who has changed positions.

“Camp’s been good,” the Guelph native said Tuesday at Alumni Stadium. “I’ve been moving around positions — I got moved to Sam linebacker (strong side) so I’m kind of learning that. I think I’m fitting in pretty well, but I’m just trying to get the mental part down so I can start being more physical.”

“We only have one starter now back in our defensive backfield now that I’ve been moved to linebacker,” Myers said. “Iain Hutchison is our only starter in the DB core from last years. We have a lot of young guys who are returning from last year and they kind of knew what to expect when they were coming in. The rookies have really impressed me, actually. They’re getting in their playbooks and they know what they’re doing and they’re really athletic.”

Full story: Hitting the books and hopefully the quarterback.

Next, Massey talks with fullback and long snapper Daniel MacDonald: Hero to zero in a snap.

Jake Piotrowski working on his footwork at training camp Photo: Rob Massey

Jake Piotrowski working on his footwork at training camp
Photo: Rob Massey

Today, Jake Piotrowski, as in … Gryphons get big lift with Piotrowski back. My favourite part:

After sitting out the 2012 campaign with a shoulder injury, a torn labrum, suffered in the East-West Bowl three months before last year’s training camp, Piotrowski is itching to play in Sunday’s OUA football season opener.

The return of Piotrowski is BIG. He essentially replaces the only starter lost from last year’s o-line, 2nd Team OUA All Star Matt Richardson. Guelph should field their most experienced o-line at least since 2009. I am very encouraged by that and the overall level of talent that we now have up-front.

Update: find the 4th story, and the bigger news, here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some big news & lots of links

  1. The Merc lost a good one when Greg Lawson was ‘given other duties’ and eventually left for greener pastures. Lawson had the Big Man on Campus blog and it always a good read.

Leave a Reply

