Football Gryphons eager for training camp to start

Cam Walker Photo: Rob Massey, Mercury

Cam Walker
Photo: Rob Massey, Mercury

A nice article in Saturday’s Guelph Mercury – Football Gryphons eager for training camp to start. Essentially, an interview with rising Junior and OUA 1st Team All Star Cam Walker, it confirms what many of us were expecting.

One of two first-team all-star special teamers last year, Walker has been working out this summer in preparation for a switch of defensive positions as he’ll be moving from linebacker to defensive end.   

“I got some good reps there last season to start developing it,” he said of the change of positions. “I’ve been practising as an end all off-season so I can’t wait to be down there every play now.”

To get ready for the extra contact he’ll experience at the position, the six-foot-four Walker hit the weights in an attempt to bulk up. He’ll tip the scales around 240 pounds at camp.

“I tried to put on about 20 to 25 pounds this summer and I’ve tried to keep my speed while I’ve been doing that,” he said. “It should turn out well. I’m moving to D end so, hopefully, I’ll be able to compete a little better against the offensive tackles at this weight.”

The experience he got at the position last year were Walker’s first at defensive end.

“I never played end (at high school),” he said. “I’ve grown a few inches over the last couple of years and I think that with my height now, I’m better suited there than I am at linebacker. I enjoy it more, too.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Football Gryphons eager for training camp to start

  1. Marty Measel says:

    Way to go Cam. Friend of your Grandparents in Florida. I know they enjoy all your games.
    Marty

Leave a Reply

