Player news and links – May 25/13

Cam Thorn #97 & Jake Piotrowski #58

Cam Thorn #97 & Jake Piotrowski #58

With CFL training camps opening this coming week 2013 draft picks Cam Thorn and Jake Piotrowski are likely already on their way to Vancouver and Montreal. CFL.ca reports that Rookie Camps begin Wednesday, May 29 while the official start of training camps is Sunday, June 2. Their complete list of important training camp dates can be found here.

Last week the Barrie Examiner had an excellent article on Thorn and Piotrowski who hail from Midhurst and Oro-Medonte north of Barrie – Eastview grads bound for CFL. Some of the highlights …

Eight years ago, Jake Piotrowski and Cam Thorn stepped onto the field behind Eastview Secondary School as junior high school football rookies.

Now, they go their separate ways — as Canadian Football League players.

The duo, who have been friends and teammates since Grade 9, were both selected in the 2013 CFL Draft; Piotrowski by the Montreal Alouettes in the fifth round and Thorn by the British Columbia Lions in the seventh.

Piotrowski was working when he heard the news.

“We live on a family farm, so I was just out in the field, spraying some fertilizer,” said the Shanty Bay native. “I hopped off of the tractor right away.”

After Piotrowski told his parents, who were thrilled at the news, he called Thorn.

“He heard right away and congratulated me right away,” Piotrowski said. “He was a little anxious (at the time), but I think he’s pretty happy he got picked.”

The Lions had to double-check on Thorn before they made him their seventh-round selection.

“I knew that I was in the running for it, and then I got contacted by B.C.,” Thorn said. “They asked me a few questions, like if I was drafted by them, if I’d go back to school or stay with them.

“I said I’d stay with them and they called back two minutes later, saying congratulations and that they’d drafted me 58th overall,” he added.

The duo played four seasons at Eastview before heading to the University of Guelph to suit up for the Gryphons.

CTV Barrie also got in on the act. I love the farm fitness angle.

http://www.ctvnews.ca/video?clipId=927493

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

