Defensive recruits announced

FINALLY!

As I’ve said all along, Guelph was taking a different approach in 2013 to recruiting and their handling of recruiting announcements. Up until today I’ve posted little other than the names of the few recruits who were listed on Canada Football Chat’s list of 2013 recruits. Now expect almost daily updates to the Recruiting 2013 page of this blog.

Initially I wondered about that decision, as Carleton in particular, but McMaster too, made some waves and seemed to have some momentum with notable early commitments. Guelph had been in that position the previous two years and used the early momentum to build a very successful recruiting class. I give Recruiting Coordinator Bill Brown full credit for knowing how to handle it.

DB Anthony Trabucco

DB Anthony Trabucco

I’ve been hearing the names of various recruits as they’ve committed over the past few months but some others came as a surprise to me. My dad first told me of Anthony Trabucco‘s commitment back in February. Trabucco I have probably watched more than any of the others – Bishop Ryan, Ironmen, GHR Allstars. But the vast majority of these recruits I’ve seen in person. Not always with their high school teams. Often it was in an OVFL/OFC game or an Allstar contest. Based on what I know of these players I couldn’t be happier. This is a great group of players. And from what I know of it tomorrow’s announcement of offensive recruits will be no less pleasing.

Ian Marouf

DL Ian Marouf

If there is a player who I’m particularly surprised and pleased to see in the class it may be Ian Marouf. Back in 2010 I watched Marouf with both the Niagara Spears and Lakeshore Catholic Gators. He was an absolute stud at DE. I recall OL Coach MacDonald telling me how his Burlington Notre Dame team had to game plan for him when they played Lakeshore in the Golden Horseshoe Bowl. Marouf demanded a double team on almost every play. Marouf was one of the top DL prospects in Ontario back then. The past two years he has played junior college football in Western NY. Marouf was his college team’s Freshman of the Year in 2011 and Defensive MVP in 2012. He is eligible to play in 2013 and has three years of CIS eligibility remaining.

Ben Osmow in the GTA backfield    Photo by Wm. Vanderland

GHR’s Ben Osmow #94 in the GTA backfield
Photo by Wm. Vanderland

It’s also nice to see Ben Osmow end up at Guelph after a circuitous journey. I met him and his family last spring. I was disappointed when he didn’t end up enrolling at Guelph. Instead, in 2012 Osmow played in all 8 games for the UBC Thunderbirds and finished third among UBC DLs in tackles. He lined up at both DE and 3-tech DT for the T-Birds. Osmow will sit out the 2013 season, then have 4 years of CIS eligibility.

For the press release on the defensive recruits go to gryphons.ca. There are brief profiles for each of the 19 recruits.

This entry was posted in Recruiting 2013 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

