Wildman Awards Dinner

Zach Androschuk receives trophy from 1970 Wildman winner Bill MorrisonPhoto: artifactsforlife.com

Zach Androschuk receives trophy from 1970 Wildman winner Bill Morrison
Photo: artifactsforlife.com

In Guelph, on Saturday night, the oldest continuously-awarded individual trophy in Canadian football was handed out for a 79th time. In front of a full banquet room at the Delta Hotel the Ted Wildman Memorial Trophy was awarded to Zach Androschuk.  It is fair to say that there wasn’t a lot of surprise as Androschuk was the recipient of many honours in 2012 including the CIS’s prestigious Russ Jackson Award.

The Wildman Trophy, awarded since 1932, goes to the senior or graduating player who has “exemplified to the highest degree the traits of sportmanship, leadership, gentlemanly conduct and who has maintained good scholarship.”  The 2011 season winner was Jedd Gardner.  Former Wildman Trophy winners in attendance included Robert Keith [1959],  Bill Morrison [1970], Greg Scheifele [1973]  and Ian McQueen [1997].  Click here for a complete list of the previous winners.

Androschuk, who was a four year starter on special teams and a two-time captain, was the starting safety in 2012. His 2012 stats included 45 tackles [32 solo & 13 assists], 2 INTs, 2 PBUs, a forced fumble and a fumble recovery. That fumble recovery may remain in the memories of thousands of Gryphon fans for many years as Androschuk scooped it up and returned it for a TD in a huge come-from-behind victory over Queen’s.

Other major award winners were Rob Farquharson [Donald Forster Trophy for team MVP], Jarryd Baines [Defensive Player of the Year] and Mike Millar [Lineman of the Year].

photo credit: gryphons.ca

photo credit: gryphons.ca

Captains’ Award:                        Michael Fortino
Kyle Walters Trophy:                Cody O’Neill 
Special Teams Player of the Year:  Cam Walker
Scout Team Players of the Year:   Amitaj Gill (Offense) & Andrew Graham (Defense)
Rookie of the Year:                  A’dre Fraser
Unsung Hero:                          Alex Ross
Defensive Player of the Year:   Jarryd Baines
Donald Forster Trophy (MVP):  Rob Farquharson
Lineman of the Year:                Michael Millar
Ted Wildman Memorial Trophy:  Zach Androschuk

You will find more detailed stories at gryphons.ca and the Guelph Mercury.

This entry was posted in History & traditions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s