Yates Cup review begins

Photo: Kim Zabawa

The Gryphon fans I talked to after the game were all disappointed but no one was upset. This Gryphon team has achieved more than even the most optimistic fan expected. McMaster is a great team. It would have taken a really special performance to defeat the Marauders in the Yates on their home field. It wasn’t meant to be. Not this year at least.

The commentator in one of the TV highlight packs summarized things saying … Mac defended their Yates Cup title in impressive fashion and set a new CIS record with 20 straight wins. This Marauder team is the favourite to repeat as Vanier Cup champions as well.

*     *     *

I will look at some of the details of the game more in the next few days. There are some positives to be gleaned from it and other lessons learned. For now just some links to other people’s stories.

The Guelph Mercury: Gryphs’ Yates Cup dream shattered

There was no miracle comeback for the Guelph Gryphons in Saturday’s Yates Cup OUA football championship game.

The team that thrived on second-half comebacks to record a Gryphon-best 7-1 record, then gain a berth in the final couldn’t pull a rabbit out of the hat at Ron Joyce Stadium.

“I quoted that famous Yoda phrase early in the week – do or do not, there’s no try,” Gryphon head coach Stu Lang said minutes after the game. “We didn’t come here to try, we came here to do.”

This time, Goliath was just too powerful for David ….

The Globe and Mail: Top-ranked Marauders capture Yates Cup with decisive win over Gryphons

A solid defensive effort by the Marauders saw to that as McMaster came up with timely big plays to overcome a plucky Guelph outfit.

Guelph counted 82 offensive plays compared to 56 for the Marauders but were undone by the miscues.

“They [Mac D] got backed up a couple times and forced a couple field goals deep inside the ten,” McMaster coach Stephan Ptaszek said. “Those are huge saves of points. They created some turnovers when they were backed up.

“If Guelph had scored seven every time they got inside the 25 this would have been a very close football game. Bend and not break helped us out a lot.”

The Hamilton Spectator: Mac blitzes and blasts to Yates Cup victory. I have to say the Spec’s writer spins the story differently than I saw it. He sounds a bit like a hometown cheerleader. The Spectator isn’t a fan blog after all. 🙂

The Toronto Star: McMaster Marauders win Yates Cup

Complete box score and game stats: 2012 Yates Cup  I see a few potential problems with the stats I saw posted here. For example, how can Guelph have net passing yards of 319 and net rushing yards of 126, yet total yards of only 347. Subtracting the sack yardage doesn’t nearly begin to explain it. I will have to ask some questions.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Yates Cup and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yates Cup review begins

  1. Randy Gerrie says:

    Peter, I have thoroughly enjoyed your insight this year and look forward to following along though out the offseason. Thanks for what you do and keep up the great work, regards, Randy Gerrie

  2. I’ll echo Randy’s sentiment; a great year for the football team that was accentuated by this blog. As the CIS tries to find ways to get attention from their immediate communities and alum, wherever they reside, it is non-traditional media that might be the key. While there is always the dream that one of the big broadcast guys will ‘catch the fever,’ blogs, like Pete’s, have an important part to play in bridging the still existing coverage gap.

    Cheers Pete, keep up the good work!

    • azucar oso says:

      There was certainly no shame in the effort the young Gryphon team showed on the field at the yates cup, Saturday. I thought they played tough against a more physically mature and experienced football team. I have no doubt there are big things to come for the Gryphons in the next couple of years.
      Congratulations on a season that exceeded expectations and provided thrills and excitement for the fans.

  3. Mike says:

    Peter,

    I would like to thank you for the amazing job you do.

    I have to be honest. Prior to 2012 I had heard of Guelph but not the Gryphons. I knew that the Storm were from Guelph but I couldn’t really place the town on the map. Vancouver can be a long way from Guelph however, with my son attending U of G the distance has become a whole lot shorter. Peter’s blog was my insight to the team. I went from never hearing of the Guelph Gryphon’s to watching every game on the web. I became very good at tracking down live feeds, preferably video but also audio as with the Sask. game. I must have looked silly walking around in my Guelph gear on. I even got to visit Guelph and watch the first Queens game. I got to meet the coaches and the parents and attend the tailgate. I was suitably impressed on all counts.

    More amazing was my attendance at BC Place the week following my Guelph trip to watch a Lions game. Out of the crowd came a Redmen Alumni who I remember from the tailgate the week previous….how small does that distance get?

    It played no role in his decision but I am guessing my son was a little more pleased with the Gryphons 8 and 2 than he would’ve been with the Thunderbirds(UBC) 1 and 7.
    Yup! I couldn’t be happier…GO GRYPHONS GO!

Leave a Reply

