Saturday morning thoughts & links

If you’ve got time this morning you may want to re-watch the highlights of the last match-up with the boys in yellow. A couple of things stood out to me the other night as I watched this for about the fourth time. What a slick ballhandler Jazz Lindsey is. There are plays in the video I’ve now seen four or five times and I’m still faked out when Jazz executes his ball fakes. Also, I also saw some great hits on RBs and receivers. Particularly one by Cam Walker. No wonder even some veteran Gaels were a little reluctant to catch the ball in the 2nd half of the game.

*     *     *

Another article from the Whig-Standard – Gaels return man in rare company – focuses on receiver/returner Chris Patrician. Patrician who missed the Oct 13 game in Guelph may be the best punt returner in the OUA. He has scored 3 TDs on returns. If you recall the first game Guelph dominated Queen’s in the return game – 338 return yards vs 63. So they better watch out for this guy today.

A’dre Fraser
Photo: Rob Massey

Gryphon fans will remember that a great Gryphon effort at Queen’s in 2009 went for naught when Gael returner Jimmy Allen scored 3 TDs. He was the differnce maker in 52-49 loss in Kingston. What I’d really like to see is an A’dre Fraser punt return for a TD. Fraser has returned 2 or 3 kicks for TDs this season only to have them nullified by penalties. Fraser has been very close to breaking several others.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saturday morning thoughts & links

  1. birddawg says:

    UNBELIEVABLE! Who are these guys? What a team. I have seen a few exiting combacks in my time, but this is one like I’ve never seen. I was at the game, screaming for the good guys, ringing my bell and honstly, I can’t remember eveything that happened in that last 6 mins. Does Lindsey ever get excited? Man this guy is smooth. Great game boys! Keep on movin, don’t look down.

Leave a Reply

