Back on track – Go Gryphons

I was close to finishing a post on Sunday night when things got off track. I ended up spending most of the evening in a hospital emergency room with a family member. I probably should have had myself checked out but I didn’t find out until the next day that, in addition to a sinus infection, I had pnuemonia. Anyways, everything is good again and we’ll all be in attendence for the big game Saturday. Lots of things to get caught up on.

  • There is good news on the weather front – No rain forecast for Saturday! It should be a crisp fall afternoon with sunshine and scattered clouds. That is good for the players and the spectators. And unlike past years, the rain we have received in recent days will have no lingering effect on the playing surface. What a great benefit the new FieldTurf playing surface is to the Gryphon Football program. I believe we would be at a considerable disadvantage if this game were being played at Queen’s Richardson Stadium.
  • I hope to get a game preview post done tomorrow morning. In the meantime, I recommend that you check out GRYPHONS AND GAELS BATTLE FOR BERTH TO 105TH YATES CUP, as gryphons.ca has beat me to the punch. This detailed preview contains lots of info I’m not going to try to duplicate. Nice to see that the gryphon.ca version of the article [oua.ca is the source I believe] has added links to the roster bios/pics/stats of seven of the Gryphon players mentioned.
  • The good news for you procrastinators is that tickets to the game are still available. I believe there was a lull in sales as people dealt with so much rain this past week. Ticket buying activity has begun heating up again in the past 2 days. Don’t be disappointed. Buy your tickets online at playoff tickets.
  • Most of us have seen thousands of students wearing “unique” t-shirts to the Homecoming games. I’m glad to see that there will be many students sporting new t-shirts for this game. You can place an order with the enterprising young man who organizes the sales [he’s a 4th year engineering student I believe] by messaging him at this facebook page – Guelph Tees.  At just $10 a piece they are a bargain even if you just want them as a souvenir. I’m pretty sure that you can arrange to pick them up at the pregame tailgate.
  • My post on the Scout Team game will be up soon though I’m not 100% certain when. I’ve heard nothing except positives about the event. The success of the game really began the night before at the team dinner. The captains, veterans and dress players, none of whom played in the game set the tone. With the captains and other vets making up the coaching staffs they were absolutely competing against each other from the outset of the player draft. Yes, the teams were determined in a draft similiar to the CFL, NFL or a fantasy league. What I will divulge is that the Players of the Game were QB Mikey Carney [Red team] and LB/H-back Jordan McCoskey [White team]. The Red team was victorious in 3OT. From a parent who attended, … the contest was very spirited with great intensity on both sides.  Each side really wanted to come out on top with bragging rights.
  • I talked with a Gryphon fan who attended the QB Club Luncheon at the Cutten Club this week. He wasn’t even aware that there had been a Scout Team game until he saw the highlights shown at the luncheon. Among his feedback – he was very impressed with the quarterback play on both teams and what a high level the game was played at.
  • Speaking of the QB Club Luncheon I believe they had their best attendance of the season this week. Offensive assistant Steve Viveiros was the MC and he interviewed veteran DB Zach Androschuk. Androschuk, who was accepted to medical school at the University of Western Ontario, said that if he had not been able to get a deferment of his admission he wouldn’t have been able to play this season. Attending medical school has always been his goal. My source said he was an excellent spokesman for the program. He was very encouraging and couldn’t have made anything but a positive impression on a dozen local high school players and coaches who were in attendance. A more experienced coach and several of his former players were also in attendance. Coach Tom Mooney (1957-60) was joined by Dave Hume, Robby Keith and John Wright.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back on track – Go Gryphons

  1. John Koh says:

    Hi Peter!
    I just read your always informative and entertaining blog. I’m glad you’re feeling much better and will be at the game tomorrow! You’ll remember me…I met you at the end of the York game two weeks ago. Your gryphon football blog is second to none in the CIS! We are having such a colourful season…not just for the helmets, jerseys and the new turf. It’s the way the guys played — they know how to come back and win close games. Makes me so proud to be a Guelph alumnus.

    John

Leave a Reply

