Jordan Duncan to showcase skills …

This story comes from the Grimsby News: BT grad invited to CFL’s evaluation camp.

Jordan Duncan to showcase skills this weekend in Toronto

Jordan Duncan just wants to play football. And if someone wants to pay him to do so, that’s just icing on the cake.

Duncan, a Blessed Trinity graduate, is set to showcase his skills at the 2012 Canadian Football League’s evaluation camp this weekend in Toronto. The Guelph Gryphon defensive back is among 59 of the top Canadian football prospects invited to camp.

The six-foot-two nutrition major finished the 2011 season second in team tackles with a total of 38.5. In 2010 he was named a second team Ontario University Athletics all-star after recording 40 tackles, three pass breakups and was tied for second in the CIS with five interceptions.

“It’s very exciting,” Duncan said of being accepted to the camp. “It’s obviously something that I’ve always wanted to do, a point I’ve always wanted to get to. I always want to push to that next level.

“My ultimate goal is that I just want to keep playing,” he added. “You hear about people just wanting to make money, I just want to keep playing football. If someone wants to pay to me to do it, that’s great.”

Duncan is ready to get out on the field and show the CFL he is ready to play.

“I’d love to play with any team that wants to take me,” said Duncan, noting he has a few preferences but really just wants to play the sport he first tried in Grade 9 at Blessed Trinity. “No matter where it is, I will go. I just want to play football.”

The three-day event, hosted by Reebok, is an opportunity for general managers, coaches and scouts to test, interview and evaluate prospects who they may select in the 2012 CFL Canadian Draft on Thursday, May 3. Duncan is hopeful he will make the cut.

It will be a grilling weekend. The camp includes physical testing as well as drills, but Duncan isn’t worried.

“I just want to go out there and show those teams what I am capable of,” he said. “I’m ready for the next step.”

Duncan started his football career in Grimsby at Blessed Trinity Catholic Secondary School. He tried out for the Thunder football team in Grade 9 without much knowledge of the sport.

“I just ended up loving it,” said Duncan, who received a scholarship to Guelph University. “I’ve love it since I first played football and I want to play as long as I can.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

